Talk:Counter (move)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.

Latest comment: 24 May 2010 by Force Fire in topic One-hit KO moves
⧼bulbapediamonobook-jumptonavigation⧽⧼bulbapediamonobook-jumptosearch⧽

Mirror Coat vs. Counter in the anime

Not sure how to word it, but in the anime, a few episodes did take into account that Mirror Coat and Counter are different. One of them was about Misty's Corsola and Mirror Coat (being unable to counter a Hyper Beam according to the old in-game rules), and the most notable event was when Duplica explained their difference in Imitation Confrontation; in this episode, Counter and Mirror Coat were explained by Duplica as if Generation IV rules were the ones applied. --Johans 18:00, 15 June 2008 (UTC)Reply

The problem is Wobbuffet has reflected everything with Counter...although I guess one has to concede that the anime tried to fix this later.--Loveはドコ? (talk contribs) 19:33, 15 June 2008 (UTC)Reply


As a reference point, the episode where Brock (falsely) explains that Mirror Coat can only counter Water attacks is EP217. On Jessie's Wobbuffet's page, it explains in the Trivia section that Jessie often merely asks for Wobbuffet to counter an attack (though admittedly, she does often say "Counter Attack" against a special attack.)

Move unreachable in Generation II games

There is a problem with the data for Generation II games. As given here, it is impossible for any pokemon other than Heracross, Gligar, Scyther, Paras, Wobbuffet, Hitmonchan, and Hitmontop to ever learn it. It is an egg move for a number of other pokemon, but it is not given how any of them learn it from a pokemon who learns it by level. Clearly there is an omission; someone please correct this. Parasect 07:39, 11 February 2009 (UTC)Reply

Trades from Gen I say hi. TTEchidna 08:07, 11 February 2009 (UTC)Reply

Counter

I think we may need to be a bit careful about uses in the anime. Counter and counter are very very close. Maybe Caterpie wasn't using Counter, he was countering? Same with Staryu? The Dark Fiddler - You enter a poorly lit room... 11:17, 26 April 2009 (UTC)Reply

One-hit KO moves

If a one-hit KO move is used while Substitute is in play, the subsitute is broken, and on the next turn, counter will also be a one-hit KO. Where does this go in the article? Flyingtypefan 08:16, 24 May 2010 (UTC)Reply

No it doesn't. A OHKO makes an opponent with full HP faint in one move, counter doesn't as you have less HP than your maximum HP.--ForceFire 08:33, 24 May 2010 (UTC)Reply